The Fiction Awards 2016

The Bolton Children’s Fiction Awards is run by Bolton School. Librarians from the School and within the local community nominate six great books published in the last year. Pupils from local Schools read and vote on their three favourite books. This culminates in a day celebrating books and reading.

Don’t miss out! Vote for your favourite books between 3rd May and 17th May!

This year, the Award Ceremony will be on 28th June.

The six books nominated for this year are as follows:

 disappearance of tom beck The Disappearance of Tom Pile is set during the Second World War. Corporal Jack Carmody is sent to investigate a mysterious case in a remote village where forty years ago, a young boy disappeared. At the time, there were some odd occurrences in the area and mysterious lights were seen in the sky. Now a strange, bewildered boy has appeared. Is he the missing boy? If so, where has he been? He also seems to have some special abilities. Could this be a case of alien abduction or is he a Nazi spy?
 13 hours 13 hours centres on 13 suspense filled hours in Anni’s life. Every night, she rushes home from school, desperate to get home. She is a carer for her mum, who panics about being alone in their large, derelict house.

Anni’s Mum is terrified of intruders and often gets Anni to check the house to make sure they are safe. But this Friday night, when Anni goes to check – she hears voices. Desperate, she and her mum try to escape but the intruders discover them and keep them prisoner. What is their motive – could it be to do with the Prime Minister’s visit tomorrow?

 an island of our own In this fast paced adventure, three orphaned children live in poverty in London. Visiting their Auntie Irene in hospital, they are given an old photo album with a set of strange photos in it. Their Aunt was an inventor, and made a fortune. However, she was very secretive and distrustful, so when she dies, the jewels which she promised Holly and her brothers would inherit are nowhere to be found. Then Holly realises that the album could be a set of clues, and a treasure hunt across the country begins in a bid to find the jewels before their greedy uncle gets there first.

Taking them from the rail tracks outside London to a remote Scottish island with chapters called ‘In which I crack open a safe, ninja style’ ‘ The awesome power of the Internet’ and ‘ Breaking and entering’ this is an exciting and original read.

 smart Smart is a crime story featuring a detective with a difference. When a homeless man drowns in the canal, everyone thinks that it is an accident, but Kieran thinks otherwise. The police don’t take any notice of his offer to help in the investigation so Kieran decides that he is going to find out what really happened.

It is not easy and could put him in danger, but Kieran has some special skills to help him. Fans of books such as The London Eye Mystery and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time will enjoy this mystery and its quirky hero.

 would the real stanley carrot please stand up This is a funny book, although it also deals with some serious issues such as bullying, family issues and sibling rivalry. Stanley feels that he doesn’t really fit in – he’s a bit on the chubby side, the last to be picked for football, and people make jokes about his ginger hair. The final humiliation is when the school bully finds out that he is adopted.

On his 13th birthday he gets a card from his birth mother asking him to meet her. He decides that he can’t disappoint her by turning up and instead, he advertises for a stand in who will be sporty, clever and good looking to impress her. Needless to say, things don’t go as planned and he finds himself getting deeper and deeper into trouble as his lies escalate. Throw into this a pushy teacher who enters him for the school talent competition and life begins to get very complicated for poor Stanley!

 one of us Jeanie Waudby’s first novel, “ One of Us” is a pacey thriller which will appeal to those who enjoy books with a dystopian setting. It is set in a society where there are two groups, the Citizens and The Brotherhood.

The Brotherhood wear hoodies, the girls have to have long hair and wear long skirts, so they are easily identifiable from Citizens. The Brotherhood often resort to terrorist methods and the book opens with a bomb attack on a station. K is rescued from the attack and finds herself being recruited as a spy for the Citizens. She has to infiltrate a Brotherhood school to find out who is responsible for the attacks. As she gets to know the pupils there, she begins to question what she has been told. And then she discovers to her shock that everything is not as it seems